Below is the list of Total No. of Universities in India, Central, Public, Private & Deemed Universities in India.

The types of universities include

Central universities, or Union universities, are established by an Act of Parliament and are under the purview of the Department of Higher Education in the Union Human Resource Development Ministry. The UGC lists 48 central universities.

State universities are run by the state government of each of the states and territories of India and are usually established by a local legislative assembly act. As of March 31, 2019, the UGC lists 399 state universities. The oldest establishment date listed by the UGC is 1857, shared by the University of Mumbai, the University of Madras and the University of Calcutta.

Deemed university, or “Deemed to be University”, is a status of autonomy granted by the Department of Higher Education on the advice of the UGC, under Section 3 of the UGC Act. As of March 31, 2019, the UGC lists 126 deemed universities.

Private universities are approved by the UGC. They can grant degrees but they are not allowed to have off-campus affiliated colleges. The UGC list of private universities As of March 31, 2019 lists 334 private universities.

Total No. of Universities in India.

Total No (31/03/19)
State Universities
Deemed to be Universities
Central Universities
Private Universities